Note that building cornerstone includes a time capsule within.
"BOARD OF TRUSTEES AT COMPLETION OF BUILDING"
"WILLIAM HILL" * "PRESIDENT,"
"JAMES D. GLOVER"**"JOHN A. BELL"
"OLIVER R. COOKE"**"J. CHARLES BEDELL"
"DR. ROBERT L. WALKER"**"DANIEL BODEN"
"GEORGE Z. HOSACK"**"ROBERT P. BURGAN"
"JOHN S. ROBB JR."
"DR. EDWARD G. HUSLER, BURGESS"
"JOHN B. HANNA"**"W. GLENN BIGHAM"
"FRANK BRETTHOLLE"**"WILLIAM H. SHINN"
"THOMAS J. KEARNS"**"ROBERT BELL JR."
"STRUTHERS & HANNAH, ARCHITECTS."
"DUSHANE & LEWIS, BUILDERS."
"IN MEMORY OF
MRS. GEORGE Z. HOSACK
FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY
IN OCTOBER 1949
TO SUSTAIN COMMUNITY INTEREST
ANDREW CARNEGIE FREE LIBRARY
Through the auspices of the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Historical and Museum Commission, the Andrew Carnegie Free Library, Allegheny County, has been entered in the National Register of Historic Places, under provisions of the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966." Certificate signed by the "State Historic Preservation Officer" and the "Executive Director"(of National Register of Historic Places). "Date Entered": "October 8, 1981".
The certificate declaring this, which hangs prominently inside the Library entrance, states: "The National Register of Historic Places, kept by the United States Department of Interior, is the official list of the nation's cultural resources worthy of preservation and includes properties significant in Architecture, American History, Archeology, Culture, and those embodying the precious heritage of the United States of America."
"Pennsylvania Citizens for Better Libraries
Award of Merit
Friends of Andrew Carnegie Free Library
Granted in recognition as the most effective library citizen support
group and for its contribution to the development and im-
provement of library services in the local community and the Common-
wealth of Pennsylvania."
"Date":"October 15, 1981"; Signed by "President" "Richard C. Torbert".
TO THE HONOR
OF OUR MEN
OUR COUNTRY IN
WAR AND PEACE
ERECTED BY GRATEFUL CITIZENS OF CARNEGIE
REDEDICATED NOVEMBER 11, 1992
DEDICATED NOVEMBER 11TH, 1931
SPECIAL NOTE: As of 2018 August 9, all of these historic catch-basin covers have been removed and replaced with cement, concrete, or asphalt.
Return to Andrew Carnegie Free Library History Cover Page.
Return to Information about the Andrew Carnegie Free Library.
Return to Andrew Carnegie Free Library.